8 Area Seniors Receive $8000 in Scholarships from Dakotaland Federal Credit Union

Dakotaland Federal Credit Union recently honored 8 area youth with $8000 in College Scholarships for the 2016-17 school year.  Each recipient completed a written application and submitted goals for their financial future, which was judged by a scholarship committee made up of 10 individuals.  “This year yielded another outstanding group of applicants.  I was highly impressed with the impact they have made in their communities and schools.  I enjoyed hearing about their aspirations and plans for the future.  With that, it was very difficult for the committee to narrow the selection to the top eight”, stated Scholarship Committee Member and Member Services Representative, Bonnie Ellis of the Mitchell Branch Office.

The following winners were each awarded $1000 to use toward their continued education.  Amanda Halsey of Huron, SD is currently attending Dakota Wesleyan University in Mitchell, SD majoring in Human Services; Entrepreneurial Leadership.  Tamisen Ames of Miller, SD will graduate from Miller High School and will be attending Brigham Young University in Provo, UT majoring in Sociology.  Taylor Flanery of Huron, SD is currently attending Mount Marty College in Yankton, SD majoring in Nursing.  Jamie Tebben of Redfield, SD will graduate from Redfield High School and will be attending Dakota State University in Madison, SD majoring in Biology Education.  Tabitha Schmidt of Huron, SD is currently attending Northern State University through Huron Community Campus in Huron, SD majoring in Music.  Adam Aughenbaugh of DeSmet, SD will graduate from DeSmet High School and will be attending South Dakota State University in Brookings, SD majoring in Computer Science.  Taylor Peck of Huron, SD will graduate from Wolsey-Wessington High School in Wolsey, SD and will be attending North Dakota State University in Fargo, ND majoring in Human Development and Family Science.  Ryan Solberg of Mitchell, SD will graduate from Mitchell High School and will be attending Augustana University in Sioux Falls, SD majoring in Economics and Political Science.

“The Credit Union believes strongly in the success of our young members and investing in their aspirations through scholarships and student loans.  We are very proud of these students and the goals they have set for themselves.  It is our intent to assist them in their future ambitions anyway we can.”, added Credit Union President, Dan Cumbee.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s